# THE JOINT PARISH COUNCILS TRANSPORT CONSULTATIVE GROUP (JPCTCG)

The JPCTCG group was initially formed in 2005 by 4 parishes: Offham; Mereworth; King's Hill and West Malling. The aims, initially established by the founding members have hardly changed during the life of the JPCTCG and are as follows:-

## AIMS of the JPCTCG

The following aims of the group were agreed and formally re-adopted in 2013:

- 1) Discuss matters of mutual concern and interest in relation to highways and traffic management
- 2) Explore potential solutions to traffic management problems.
- 3) Form a pressure group to lobby at Borough (JTB & PPP) and County level as necessary.
- 4) Explore joint capital expenditure and enforcement projects for traffic calming purposes.
- 5) Advise respective Parish Councils on appropriate strategies as relevant to particular situations.
- 6) Convene and facilitate appropriate meetings with external personnel and organizations e.g. TMBC; Kent Highways; J5Slips; KALC; Police and Road Safety groups and local Bus Companies to discuss key areas.
- 7) Monitor and make representation on any key "large scale potential development" in the region that might impact on other aims.

#### THE JPCTCG PARISH MEMBERSHIP TODAY

Membership has expanded from the founding four to 17 Parishes:

Birling, Borough Green, Ditton, East Malling & Larkfield, Ightham, Kings Hill, Leybourne, Offham, Platt, Plaxtol, Ryarsh, Shipbourne, Snodland, Trottiscliffe and Wateringbury, West Malling, Wouldham.

## **MEMBERSHIP / COMPOSITION OF GROUP.**

- a. Any Parish Council within the Tonbridge and Malling Borough having a common interest in traffic management and transport facilities in proximity to West Malling are entitled to join the Group.
- b. The Group consists of up to three representatives from each Parish Council, lay members can be included if felt appropriate.
- c. Representatives from other Groups, whose interests and aims relate directly to those of JPCTCG, may also be invited to join as Associate members such as the Malling Action Partnership (M.A.P.); and J5Slips. Police, Highways and County Council representatives may also be invited to attend as appropriate.
- d. Each Parish pays an annual membership fee, currently £50 per Parish per annum. The fee is determined at the AGM and payable in May to M.A.P. The fee will cover administration costs such as room booking fees and the Honorarium for the JPCTCG Secretary which is £125 per meeting.

### **KEY NOTE PRESENTATIONS**

JPCTCG meetings are well attended with on average 15-20 delegates. Having high profile speakers has enabled the Group to better understand and explore potential solutions to their traffic issues. Members have found meetings to be a useful forum for informal discussion addressing matters of common interest on highways and traffic management.

#### MOST RECENT PRESENTATIONS TO JPCTCG

Borough and County members and our local MP have attended meetings so they are aware of Parish Concerns. In particular, the JPCTCG has supported the J5 Slips Campaign (improved junction access at M25 & M26 Interchange) with letters to lobby representatives at County and Members of Parliament level. *Tim Shaw, part of the J5Slips Campaign Team* provides regular feedback on progress.

In September 2018, *Tom Tugendhat MP* updated the Group on J5 Slips, M20, The Rail Franchise, the Big Conversation and school buses, border crossings and the Ryarsh Quarry.

In May 2018, *Ian Bailey and Nigel DeWit* from Planning, TMBC, gave an update on the Local Plan with an emphasis on the transport considerations.

In February 2018, *Philip Lightowler*, Head of Public Transport at KCC gave an update on the Bus Consultation.

In November 2017 we had an update on highways issues from *Matthew Balfour* and presentations from *Speedwatch* and *NuVenture Buses*, earlier in the year we had a presentations on The Rail Franchise and The Local Plan.

Previous speakers have included: Steve Humphrey, Director of Planning, Housing and Environmental Health, TMBC, Ann-Marie Penny and her team from Kent & Medway Safety Cameras, Guy Rollinson and Alan Watson from Speedwatch, Tom Tugendhat MBE MP, Jane Heeley, Chief Environmental Officer, TMBC, Ann Carruthers, Transport Strategy Delivery Manager KCC, Andy Corcoran, the KCC Traffic Schemes and Highways Fund Matthew Balfour, KCC Deputy Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport, Yasmin Vawda, Air Quality Consultant, Derek Lloyd, Planning & Construction Manager, Liberty. Dan Bruce, Infrastructure and Development Senior Officer for Public Transport KCC. Peter Coulling, Chairman Teston, Geraldine Brown, Chairman Yalding PC & Chairman KALC Maidstone Area Committee, Chris Fribbins, Railfuture, Head of Passenger Group Member, Policy Directorate Member, London & South East Branch Committee Kent Division.

#### SEPTEMBER 2018

For further details please contact Sarah Huseyin, Secretary at **kentjpctcg@gmail.com** Telephone 01732 886402